Wind in the Willows

The Wind in the Willows is a classic children’s book by Kenneth Grahame, originally published over 100 years ago, in 1908.

It tells the adventures of four animal friends who live along a river in the English countryside: Toad, Mole, Rat, and Badger. The story is both notable and lovable for its mixture of mystery, excitement, morality and friendship.

Its first adaptaion was for the stage in 1929 by another famous author, A. A. Milne, the creator of Winnie the Pooh! It was based on the four chapters in the book that revolve around Toad and his extraordinary life.

There have since been dozens of other interpretations for film, the theatre, television and radio including an animated version in 1949 by Walt Disney entitled, The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad.

Kenneth Graham had been serving as secretary of the Bank of England before writing his masterpiece and retired the same year it was completed. He then moved to the country where he spent much of the rest of his life enjoying similar activities to the characters he had so vividly created.

Please listen to our very own production of this delightful and enchanting story, read for us by Hugh Hemmings and originally aired on the Children’s internet-based radio station Abracadabra.

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Chapter 8

Chapter 9

Chapter 10