Alice in Wonderland

“Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” (also known by its shorter title “Alice in Wonderland) was originally published nearly 150 years ago, in November 1865.

It was three years before this that the author, Lewis Carrol, whose real name was Charles Lutwidge Dodgson had first told the story to three young girls during a long boat trip up the River Thames. The girls were the daughters of Henry George Liddell, vice-chancellor of Oxford University. One of them, named Alice, loved it so much that she asked Dodgson to write it down for her. Alice waited two years before Dodgson granted her wish and gave her the completed, hand written manuscript with his own illustrations.

This original version was called “Alice’s Adventures Underground”. It consisted of four chapters and was about half the length of the now famous one published a year later, which added several key characters including the Cheshire Cat, March Hare and Mad Hatter.

The story has now been translated into 125 different languages and over 100 editions of the book have been published, it has never been out of print.

Settle down and enjoy our very own audio version of this fantasy filled masterpiece, originally produced for and broadcast on children’s internet station Abracadabra and read by Peter Schofield. Press the play buttons below and be happy.

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7